I suppose it’s time I give you my side of the story.

If you’ve been a reader for any length of time, you’ve probably noticed that the amount of posts I’ve been publishing has drastically decreased. In the beginning, I was hyped about the games launch and looked forward to WAR being the game to bring MMOs into a new light for me. High hopes? No doubt but I certainly wasn’t alone. I was posting every day, if not multiple times a day.

Now, I look back on the site and notice that it’s been about four days since I’ve written anything substantial about WAR. Why is this? Well, to be honest, I’m feeling a little burnt out. As many others have said, I’m not feeling enough reward for the time I’ve invested. Tome unlocks are great, sure, but somehow they equate to a pebble being tossed into the ocean; it will make a ripple but not much of a splash. Everything started to feel a little grindy to me, especially trying to level through PVE.

I’ve defended WARs PVE in the past (and no, I won’t rehash the post before last) because, at the time, it seemed to me that people were unhappy because it was like other games. To me, it feels like a grind because the quests within WAR are all so similar. I said once that it was the quest text that really brought it to life. At this point, I have a different perspective. The text is engaging, to be sure, but I find myself not reading it because I know the task before me will be the same as 50 other quests I’ve done, just in a different context.

I have enjoyed myself in scenarios but it’s generally only when I’m running with friends and we can actually strategize. Maybe I’ve just had a bad streak but communication in most other scenarios I’ve been in is either nil or it’s one or two people shouting orders or bitches at each other “OMFG GET THE FLAG U NUBS!”. When I first heard about WAR being an RvR game I was initially hesitant because I hated the battleground chat in WoW. I don’t play a game to be berated by some fool who thinks he knows the ultimate solutions, which then gives him the right to degrade his team mates for not kneeling before his meta-omniscient glory. In the PuG based scenarios I’ve run, it’s either that or total, disorganized, silence. One equals irritation, the other equals a frustrating loss. Neither choice is too appealing. Thankfully, my guild is usually up for some runs.

Finally, I’ll be honest and say that I want as much “world” as I do game in my MMO. WAR doesn’t have that. It gives us environments, not continents, if you catch my meaning. When I go between the tiers in WAR, even across pairings, I feel more like I’m changing levels and not going to a different part of the world. My post on fluff elaborates on this a bit and what I think can be done to help the current situation.

None of this is to say that WAR doesn’t offer a lot of good features. PQs are still really cool, when they’re completed. Open-RvR is fun, albeit a little repetitive if you’ve done it a few times. If you’re having fun with the game, I’m truly happy for you. I mean, I still have fun doing some things but the rest has me feeling a little “meh” at the moment.

A lot of the commentors on the various blogs I read have chalked a lot of these sentiments up the burn out. I don’t think that’s it. I think, more than anything, we are the casualties of the hype train. As bloggers, I think we were the more likely victims here. We followed the game in the beginning, read every new detail, looked into the press releases and saw what we perceived to be great innovations that would rejuvinate the industry. To put it short, our hopes got too high for the reality check they were destined to receive. Again, this doesn’t mean it’s a bad game.

I’m going to take up the same call as many other bloggers and give the game another 2-3 months. If things haven’t changed by then, and they could, I’ll be taking a break from WAR until several more big patches go in. I still see a lot of potential in WAR. In time, it could be all we were led to believe by the hype machine. They’ve certainly demonstrated a dedication to fixes and updates thus far.

In the meantime, I’ll still be maintaining this blog. Likewise, I’ll still be writing my column for Hammer of War. My aim is still daily updates, as I still want to love this game and, thus, have lots to write about. I can’t guarantee that though because dreary gaming does not equal engaging writing. I’m of the belief that if something is worth writing about you’ll want to write about it. If not, well then, that thing will fade away into time.

I would like to thank my fellow bloggers for their honesty. It encouraged me to share my own feelings with impunity. More than that though, it might make the devs listen. We know that Mark reads WAAAGH! so maybe he’ll check out that blog roll and hear us. So to you, my readers, no matter what blog you’re checking out, be sure to comment with your feelings. Your thoughts may get heard by the right people and make an impact on the direction of the game.

