Happy Sunday, everyone! Well, maybe only for me because my work week ends today. Despite the fact that your weekend may be coming to a close, I do have some good news to share: it turns out Altdorf didn’t wimp out after all. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not bashing Order players… more like the guards and girly citizens. Come on… the great city falls within a week and a half of launch? Were the guards napping? Out at the pub and couldn’t be bothered? Playing with Slaanesh barbies? Sheesh. For a second there, I thought Order was actually going to blush.

 

Thankfully, it turns out city siege was accomplished by 10% skill, 30% exploit, and 60% bug. Tobold posted Mythic’s clarification on the issue. To make it short, there were a few things that caused this situation. First, the postern doors on the fortresses were allowing people to pass through, thereby allowing them to bypass a portion of the NPC defenses. Second, said NPCs were not tuned to meet the influx of enemies that challenged them. They’ve since been made more challenging. Finally, the timers on the fortress captures were malfunctioning and gave the Destruction players three times more time than we’ll all get going forward.

 

On top of that, it seems that the city wasn’t sacked after all. The intruders were unable to complete the PQs necessary to unlock the king encounter and were ousted from the city in relatively short order. So, since Altdorf was temporarily infiltrated based upon bugs and an exploit, there’s no real cause for concern.

 

I don’t know about any of you, but I was pretty concerned after hearing about such an early sack, so this is good news. I knew Mythic would tune things up so it wouldn’t happen again anyways but it’s nice to see that they’re paying attention to our concerns and went out of their way to allay them. I tell you though, it sure looks like it’s going to be a big challenge to take a city and I think that’s a really good thing. If you haven’t yet, go check out Tobold’s post and all the reasons why what happened shouldn’t have happened. It’ll give you a good bit of insight into the challenges that wait for us around the bend.

 

Until tomorrow…. WAAAGH!

