This time around, I’m going it pure.

That’s right, pure as the driven snow and white as a baby’s bed sheets.

Well, not really, but I am going to make a concerted effort to not look up too much online once WAR goes live.

When I first started playing WoW, I had friends to direct me to all the best websites. I had guides, quest walkthroughs, and knew the best easter eggs the game had to offer. At the time, I really enjoyed it. Overall though, I think it lead to the game becoming stale far quicker than it would have. Reading up on everything made the game world smaller somehow. There was no need to explore or test things out too much myself, because anything I could think of doing someone else already done and posted it online. Don’t get me wrong, I still had a lot of fun and enjoyed playing, while that lasted. I experimented here and there but there was nothing truly unique I could really do or achieve.

I don’t want that to happen with WAR. When I think back over my gaming life, some of my best memories come from having found things out for myself. Be they story elements, secret rooms, objects, or tricks and techniques to do better in whatever game I was playing. I began my MMO experience with a MUD called The Final Challenge back in early 1999. There was only one guide for that game and it was about how to navigate a random exit zone. Apart from that, all of the information players had came from their own experiences or those of others. There was pride in having knowledge that others did not and, having information shared throughout the community lead to tighter bonds all around. It also made me feel like there way always something new to find out; there was always the unknown, some secret trick or tactic that nobody had figured out yet. It removed some of the walls surrounding my perceptions on the game world. With WoW, those walls were made of 10 foot high brick and lined with barbed wire.

Some of my nostalgia probably comes from the fact that it was my first MMO experience. Despite that, I believe that it was the unknown that really drew me in and kept me there for over 7 years. So, as hard as it may be, I’m going it pure in WAR. I don’t want to know every loot table for every boss. I don’t want to know that the best levelling path is from points A to D to F or that there’s a hidden lever at 62,42. No waypoints for quests and no guide to unlock every possible title. I want to be surprised. I wanted to be enamored.

I want to be pure.

